Yorta Yorta Country


This is a map of the Native Title Land that was claimed in Traditional Yorta Yorta Territory.

Traditional Yorta Yorta Country

Traditional Yorta Yorta lands lie on both sides of the Murray River roughly from Cohuna to Albury / Wodonga. They include towns such as Echuca, Shepparton, Benalla, Corowa and Wangaratta and extend northwards to just south of Deniliquin.

This map was part of the claim which sought confirmation of the continuation of native title over forests and other public lands along the Murray and Goulburn Rivers. Yorta Yorta Traditional tribal lands, covers some 20,000 square kilometers.

Uncle Neville Atkinson and Uncle Colin Walker talk about Yorta Yorta Country